Tuesday, June 19, 2018

ARCs on my TBR for Summer 2018

This week, Top Ten Tuesday is focusing on beach reads and summer to-read lists. I plan to continue checking books off of my Spring TBR since I still have about half of those to go, and I'm also hoping to revisit several Sarah Dessen books by listening to the audio versions. But for today's post, I'd like to share the ARCs I'm planning to read this summer that will be published between now and the start of Fall on September 22.

COZY MYSTERIES 


Italian Iced by Kylie Logan 


What it's about (from Goodreads): Hot pasta and a cold corpse make for quite a combination in the latest book in the Ethnic Eats mystery series.
Why I requested it: Cozy mysteries are hide to find in my libraries, so I like to take the opportunity to request a few new ones for review as my reading schedule allows. I haven't read any others from this series, but I liked the description of this particular mystery, which involves a murder victim with many enemies. 
When it comes out: June 26 


Midnight Snacks are Murder by Libby Klein


What it's about (from Goodreads): When her sleepwalking aunt is accused of committing murder, Poppy McAllister finds out there's no rest for the weary . . .
Why I requested it: I absolutely loved the first book of this series, Class Reunions are Murder, and Poppy's aunt was one of the best characters. I can't wait to see how she gets out of trouble in this second book. 
When it comes out: July 31 


If the Coffin Fits by Lillian Bell


What it's about (from Goodreads): When an unnatural cause of death finds one of her clients, Desiree must get to the bottom of the murder before she’s fitted for a coffin, herself.
Why I requested it: I loved the concept of this series from the beginning and requested the first book via inter-library loan. I'm so excited to get back into this universe. 
When it comes out: September 11 


Read and Gone by Allison Brook


What it's about (from Goodreads): Seven-million dollars' worth of missing gems bring Carrie Singleton's long-lost and larcenous dad back into her life and it's up to Carrie to clear his name. 
Why I requested it: I love a good mystery set in the library, and I really enjoyed the first book Haunted Library Mystery, Death Overdue, even though I am ordinarily not that into ghosts. I also love the festive Christmas-themed cover.
When it comes out: September 11


KIDLIT 


So Done by Paula Chase


What it's about (from Goodreads): When best friends Tai and Mila are reunited after a summer apart, their friendship threatens to combust from the pressure of secrets, middle school, and the looming dance auditions for a new talented-and-gifted program.
Why I requested it: There is no middle grade story I love more than one about the difficulties of female friendship in middle school. I also really like the cover art on this one.
When it comes out: August 14 


A Long Line of Cakes by Deborah Wiles


What it's about (from Goodreads): Emma Lane Cake has five brothers, four dogs, and a family that can't stay put. The Cake family travels from place to place, setting up bakeries in communities that need them. Then, just when Emma feels settled in with new friends . . . they move again. Now the Cakes have come to Aurora County, and Emma has vowed that this time she is NOT going to get attached to ANYONE or ANYTHING. Why bother, if her father's only going to uproot her again? But fate has different plans. And so does Ruby Lavender, who is going to show Emma Lane Cake a thing or two about making friendship last. 
Why I requested it: The Aurora County All-Stars, which is set in the same universe as this book, was on my Spring TBR, and I really enjoyed it, so I'm looking forward to reading this fourth book of the set. I also think it has a great cover, even if it's not illustrated by Marla Frazee like all the others.
When it comes out: August 28

Naomis Too by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich and Audrey Vernick


What it's about (from Goodreads): A heartfelt, sweet, social justice-themed ode to blended and unconventional families—perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Lisa Graff, and Sara Pennypacker. 
Why I requested it: I really enjoyed the first book, Two Naomis,  and was pleasantly surprised to learn there will be a sequel. I also love the way the titles of the two books mirror each other. I'm a little nervous that "social justice-themed" means "preachy and in-your-face political" but I'm willing to risk it to see how these characters are doing.
When it comes out: September 11



7 comments:

  1. I love your kidlit books for this summer. All of them are new to me. Female friendship in middle grades is always a great theme for a book, I think. I'm reading one now that explores that. It's Everything I Know About You.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Cozies are hard to find at my library too and you've gotten some great ones! I'm excited about Italian Iced and Read and Gone on my list as well. I loved the first in the series. If the Coffin Fits and Midnight Snacks Can Be Murder both sound delightful. A Long Line of Cakes sounds adorable too.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I hope you get a chance to read all of these! I do love a good cozy mystery - I need to make time for one or two this summer. :)

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
  4. Those cozy mysteries look so fun! I hope to read a few this summer, myself. 🙂

    ReplyDelete
  5. These cozy mysteries seems to have similar cover, no? I like them. So Done is also on my TBR. That cover is so pretty.

    ReplyDelete
  6. What a fun list! I enjoy Cozy Mysteries but rarely pick them up. I may have to check into some of these titles.
    Naomis Too looks cute. I look forward to seeing what you think of it.

    ReplyDelete
  7. What an excellent of new kid books - I always struggle finding good reads for my sons... especially now that they are getting older, and can never like anything mom says is good... oh well... one book at a time, and lots of visits to the library... oh and thanks for stopping by my TTT this week <3

    Marissa

    Reading List

    ReplyDelete